Skip to content

brothers – dverse

April 14, 2015

At dinner time
The summer wind always seemed
to push me toward Jimmies door.

I suppose sand drifts somewhere
and piles up where there’s strength
to hold it.

A child never understands how hard
It is to put food on the table
But always it seemed the better place to be.

One time Paul, his older brother,
Ran off two older kids who picked Jimmy and me
For fighting fodder. A big mistake with Paul about.

Still, I always marveled at the gaping
Drywall holes in Jimmy and Paul’s
Shared basement bedroom.

“Oh” –
Jimmy always chuckled at it.
Paul took a swing at me and missed.

From → dverse

24 Comments
  1. The drywall holes really told a story of their own!
    Nice write. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. intimate and caring, and humorous ๐Ÿ™‚ ~

  3. Your bring the story alive via poetry. Lovely!

    • Thanks – they prompted us the other day to write “letter poems” – that feel works for some of my stories, I’m always glad you stopped by. That means it’s a good day ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Nice. Your story captures not just the story but the feel of those times, the depth of your relationship. I enjoyed reading this so much.

    • sometimes when we look back, we see how desperate we were to hold on to something. Glad you enjoyed the poem. that means alot.

  5. Though I’m an only child, you still managed to convey something to me too. Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. aww…even fighting is sweeeet sometimes ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Brothers…biggest foes, and at the same time, best protectors. Nicely done on showing both sides of the brotherhood coin.

  8. Such friendly fighting I have seen and never really taken part in. Maybe that’s why I cannot really handle such things as I’ve grown up. Perfect with those drywall holes.

  9. Such a wonderful account of brothers and ‘chosen’ brothers – I loved the drifting sand and the strength to hold it – very cool

    • yes – that’s the line that had the most meaning to me. Often we don’t realize until we look back across our tracks.

  10. Glenn Buttkus permalink

    I was 6 years older than my brother, so we did not wrestle or punch it out much; but my two East coast grandsons, aged 7 & 6 fistfight daily, chipped teeth & all. Your piece has a nice personal feel to it, astute, fun, revealing; smile.

  11. Very interesting and adorable Bill – I loved the elder brother.

  12. I like the camaraderie and brotherhood feeling in your poem! Protection was one reason I would have liked an older brother.

  13. I smiled at the drywall holes. Very realistic! I’ve heard of boys like this. Paul sounds like a great protector…I’d have liked to have him as a big brother, I think.

  14. Seems like the fighting and punching are part of brotherhood ~ My two boys have their share of fights around the neighborhood, smiles ~

    Thanks for sharing ~

  15. So like boys, like young men – to laugh at things and put them aside and move on from the past. And standing up for each other at all costs.

  16. I so enjoyed your take on the prompt, bw. Sharing this story in verse is perfect. Brothers to a T.

Leave a Reply

