Skip to content

first kiss – dverse

September 18, 2014

The first kiss they say must delight
with the lights down low in the dark of night
And fifth grade boys should never falter
for fifth grade girls are usually taller.

The bottle spins around and round
a wobbling mimsy-wishy sound
each youthful breath is held delightedly
for soon two of us will kiss excitedly

I’ll be strong and silent her heart will flutter
I know if I speak, I’d surely stutter
there’s things to learn when making passes
That it’s hard to kiss when two wear glasses

The bottle stops and to my pleasure
It’s Sherri the new girl sparkleicous treasure
So hard to look her in the nose
I’ll have to kiss on tippy-toes

And so dear reader, this I offer
if you should happen to have a daughter
advise her not to groan or shudder
if her first kisser accidentally slobbers.

From → dverse, humor, poetry

26 Comments
  1. ha ha, such cuteness and fun. Loved it and I am a father to a daughter too πŸ™‚

  2. Heard about those games, I was always very tall.

  3. Spin the bottle . . . . now that brings back memories.

  4. Dearie me, that brings back many an embarrassing moment… Also how hard it is to kiss someone with braces or big noses getting in the way…

    • I know, the logistics were always getting in the way of our imaginary expectations πŸ™‚

  5. ah…very cute…this flowed quite nicely…your advice at the end had me smiling.

  6. Glenn Buttkus permalink

    The whimsey runs deep, the memories clarion, red-cheeked, heart-fluttering; liked your very sweet take on the prompt, the Lewis Carroll pre-adolescent mind set sufficing for not using a plethora of nonsense words like some of us tried to do.

  7. For me it was behind the bushes on the playground, with my first cousin. (!) I had mercifully forgotten it until your reminder. Thanks? Very enjoyable, Bill.

  8. This poem is absolutely great and sweet. Beautiful my friend. πŸ™‚

  9. This is so sweet!

  10. I’m sorry – I’d shudder… this is fun and sweet

  11. I suspect it’s the rare person who doesn’t relate to your poem, Bill–many memories out there which feature that uncooperative spinning bottle (and the awkward height differential which plagued both sexes). Good write. (Sparklicious–great word.)

  12. Thanks for a fun poem – and some ‘interesting’ reminiscences … smiles

  13. πŸ™‚ This was a delightful read. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, it was fun to remember and laugh at how seriously we used to take ourselves. Glad you enjoyed it.

  14. haha… the first kisses are not necessarily the best…or the worst… we used to play this as well and we had one dang-good looking boy… so all the girls hoped the bottle would land on him

    • thanks Claudia, some day I shall be able to forgive myself for that missed opportunity πŸ™‚

  15. Ha.. I wonder how girls can ever stand looking up a boy’s hairy nose as they grow taller.. The brought sweet memories back πŸ™‚

  16. “lol” The bottle never landed on the boy I wanted it to. The roulette ball never landed on the number I wanted it to. I now play neither! Sweet poem!

    • Thanks Resa, Sherri and I never survived that first botched kiss, but as a consolation by the time I graduated High School, I was at least taller than she was πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

