Skip to content

from classic to text – dverse

August 26, 2014

If John Donne had texted…. in the foreign language of my kids here is how his “Break of Day” might have started.

Original….

‘Tis true, ‘tis day, what though it be?
O wilt thou therefore rise from me?
Why should we rise because ‘tis light?
Did we lie down because ‘twas night?
Love, which in spite of darkness brought us hither,
Should in despite of light keep us together.

Modern… ( with auto-correct )

R U there?
Tia true tia day what though it be ?
Oh will thou therefore rise from me ?
Y shld we rise because tea night
ltr…. LMAO

From → dverse

19 Comments
  1. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade) permalink

    That’s a fun approach to the prompt! Wicked, lol. Now I want to rsh of and try putting other famous pieces into text.

  2. Excellent Bill, reminded me of a conversation I once heard my son having on the phone with a mate of his. It was basically a series of grunts which I was told later made perfect sense to him.

  3. Niiice! I can hear Britney Spears singing it! “lol” 🙂

  4. Glenn Buttkus permalink

    Your levity is more than welcome in the hallowed halls of the Pub; really made me smile. The older I get the more of a luddite I become; although my kids, if begged still tutor me some.

  5. Such a fun response, I like it ~

  6. that was supposed to be IKR, not inr… just goes to show you, even a young’n like me can be awful with txt language… hahah

  7. heh-heh…I like it 😀

  8. haha… what fun… cool take and i wonder how the old greeks had texted.. smiles

  9. That was very funny! And proves that you need a translator for teenagers and for modern technology!

  10. Hehe.. U have it right I think,

  11. omg.
    lol.

    lmao
    indeed

  12. Oh my happy ribs! Grin. Mail en route.

Leave a Reply

