Skip to content

conversations with a teen – dverse

May 22, 2014

Saw the look, you declared war
Too bad, that’s what parents for
Bite that tongue, hold that sass
Feel lucky I don’t kick your …..

You think the world waits for your call
Time to wake up – that ain’t it at all
Other people matter – I’m talking to you
Your heart is revealed, by what you say and do

Step back from the door, make a deposit
Put that skimpy top back in the closet
There’s a message you’re selling, you didn’t expect
The way you dress needs to call for respect.

Nothing good happens after midnight
Respect that – you’ll be allright
make it through, make it through, make it through
Then you’ll be tellin your kids too.

From → dverse, poetry

40 Comments
  1. As the father of a 20y/o girl and an 18y/o boy, this poem really hits me where I live. The only thing I would add is a verse about pulling up their pants. Witty, brilliantly-written, and most importantly, necessary!

  2. Wise advice indeed, hide away when midnight comes

  3. The parent wish (muttered under their breath) “I hope you have children!”

    • You know, my mom used to say “someday you’ll have a child just like you” and I always thought it was a complement πŸ™‚

  4. Brilliant! I loved the last line of stanza 1!

    • thanks – I was a bit afraid of slant, but realize now that slant mastered really can make a poem better.

  5. A very good and wise piece…I enjoyed this!

  6. This took me back to childhood and the things my parents would say. Great write.

  7. Ah, you sound like my father. πŸ™‚ and now, I think I almost sound this way, too. It is hard to be a parent, now I know.

  8. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade) permalink

    Oh, so scary to be a parent!

  9. Cool piece Bill…hmmpf it takes a while for the message to get through to our little darlings doesn’t it. Smiles

  10. Oh, boy, got all that to look forward to then? And I thought the sass was reaching epic levels already… Mostly straight rhymes there, though, would have liked to see more of a slant!

  11. some sound advice…

  12. One wonders how any parent survives the teenage years. The parents of my generation had it so easy,yet they still complained.

  13. Most of us insist on learning about the hard knocks of life – the hard way. Some of us learn from those who been there, done that, I reckon.

    • maybe that’s the best way Eric. What’s the old wife tale – “We are too soon old, and too late smart”

  14. This is mainly straight rhyme but it so well fits the straight talk! Well done. K.

  15. Now my grandchildren are experiencing the teen years..I can’t say enough about the negative influence social media has on them and how much diligence is required of parents these days..
    they need to have their behinds kicked sometimes πŸ˜‰

  16. It is always good to maintain good communication with one’s teens. Not easy to do…but important.

  17. Great poem and so refreshing….I dig this a lot. πŸ™‚

  18. Glenn Buttkus permalink

    I raised three daughters, so yes your slant verse resonates like thunder; with my girls it was weird hair cuts & dying it purple & red & blue, and tattoos, & piercing that raised the parental flags for me.

    • Isn’t it true that our own worst habits are what really ticks us off in our kids πŸ™‚

  19. Ha, yes I could see the concern of skimpy tops .. Keep em occupied with other stuff

  20. I love that phrase too! Sounds like you’ve been a great parent! πŸ˜‰

  21. you’re playing it pretty straight πŸ™‚

  22. “lol” You’re a good dad! πŸ™‚

  23. “Nothing good happens after midnight” – I have never heard that one but may use it with students.

  24. nothing good happens after midnite…ha….yeah, it gets a little crazy…i like the wisdom and straight talk in this…what are you selling?

  25. smiles… if they only knew what we know from our own experience already.. my mom had a hard time with me when i was a teen… my own kids were relatively tame – so it was easy getting them through their teenage years – they love to listen to my mom’s horror stories about my teenage time though… ha…smiles

    • my girls were great – they did get tired of hearing “Nothing good happens after midnight” though… πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

