Skip to content

spring cycling – poem dverse

March 20, 2014

come dare the mountain-wind today
with me on two wheels far away
out from the city lie roads so long and straight
where prairie bound the mountain-wind does wait

it tests our heart and slows us down
but strength enough in two is found
by sharing both the burden and the load
we ascend through effort on this long level road

and if each yard of road is hard fought won
we know that soon enough begins the fun
for once we turn for home like sail-boats sent
we fly across the road on the mountain-wind descent

From → dverse, poetry

30 Comments
  1. Your poem makes me want to start riding again!

  2. Breezy, fresh, and full of spring optimism… I love it! The rhythm and tone of this is pitch-perfect.

  3. Very nicely done.

  4. Love this one!

  5. Oh.. smiles.. this is sweet, and I really like the title that you chose. Such a nice rhythm to the poem and a positive vibe here too.

  6. Oh I wish for that type of cycling… soon I’ll bring my road-bike out… (more sea-wind though)… yet it’s my commuter bike with studded tires.. but soon — very soon.

    • Same here, going out for 30 miles tomorrow. There are few things like a smooth flat road and a bit of breeze at your back !

  7. Glenn Buttkus permalink

    In Chicago the world is flat, the more perfect to cycle, & then share its thrills with poetics; nice response to the prompt, Bill–though I would like to have seen more kennings.

    • Yeah – I wasn’t sure about it, but after reading all the other offerings I realized I really missed out on the joy of it.

      The kennings remind me a bit of a ritual in which the power of the words is released.

    • thanks Resa – I was trying to show how in the flat Chicagoland the wind is like a hill, but everybody missed it.

      • Well, I loved the flat part (‘m from the prairies)…just couldn’t figure the mountain wind.
        Shame on me, I grew up in Winnipeg which boasts the “windiest corner in N. America”….Portage and Main.
        ๐Ÿ˜Ž ๐Ÿ˜Ž (hiding my shame behind fake emoticon sunglasses.)

  8. The joys of riding include your heightened senses, and the feel of the wind is one of those pleasures. Admittedly, one of the negatives is riding into a strong wind–that’s not so much fun, especially if you’re going uphill on a cold day. Your poem makes one want to get on the road and enjoy. Nice, Bill.

  9. I can hear the swosh of the mountain-wind as you ascend & fly across the road home ~ Enjoyed this one ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. I haven’t ridden a bike for a while, but I felt as if I was riding in this bill, thankfully without the wind. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Your love of biking can really be felt in your poem, Bill! I think I’d like the second part better. I live in a very flat area and am not used to ascend mountains.

  12. Mountain-wind…I could feel it even though I ride only my big 3 wheeler which doesn’t go very fast ๐Ÿ˜‰

  13. Ahh..cycling the memories your words inspire of decades spent on
    a banana seat of unusual discomfort..
    and eventual cricked neck from bending over..
    i gave up my running ..i gave up my bike..i gave up ellipticals..

    i gave up my stationary bike even…and finally my treadmill..to boot..

    And all i have left is walking in 360 degrees..and substantiAlly barefoot…

    And oh my goD..no more pain..
    but..that is how the hunters and gatherers..our ancestors..LIVE.. in balance of TAI CHI..
    with nary a foot lifting the earth..more than an inch or 2…

    As being noticed by prey or predator..
    IS the highway..
    to death..so ha! our ancestors are Ninja’s
    and NOW
    We are the PREY…so i pray for movement..
    invisible with
    ONE..
    but to live with gravity..
    IS to tRuly float like a butterfly..
    and sting like
    a
    NINja
    bee…;)
    The tires touch the pavement..
    but the feet..
    ‘rule’ the earth..
    in rulers of foot..or ’round twelve inches..
    as such…:)

  14. smiles… you know i love cycling and often cycle the 20 km to my workplace… i have quite a bit of up and down on the way and it makes for a good metaphor for sure

    • it’s very flat here, but there’s the mountain-wind. Once the corn grows tall, we hide behind it as it breaks the wind.

  15. You captured well, Bill, the joys of road biking – sometimes wind in the face, sometimes wind pushing us along. How exhilarating – enjoy ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. I remember cycling in the Canadian Rockies when I was younger…yes, the climbs were brutal, but the descents…no thrill greater!

  17. Oh, I can feel the exhilaration of mountain cycling in your poem. The ascent would be hard, but oh the turning for home and that wonderful descent with wind at your back. Almost as joyous an experience as flying!

    • there are no hills in chicago, but there is the relentless wind. Once we had some guests from a hilly place ride with the club. They bragged about how difficult their hills were vs our flat. We said nothing. After an hour in the wind, we had to call a car to come pick them up ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. nice write… brings me back to my childhood: walking up hills with my friends, and all that climbing is paid off when you finally ride down…

  19. sounds like some fun biking…coming down off the mountain is the thrill ride after every hard fought yard on the way up….

    • down the mountain-wind is riding with the wind at your back on a flat road – unless the wind shifts and you get it both ways.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Tearing Down the Tarmac | Written Words Never Die

Leave a Reply

