Skip to content

ungrateful – friday fictioneers

September 18, 2013

Damn ungrateful kid. She makes enough money now. Never calls anymore. I told her to pay for her own wedding, “But Dad, you promised me a dress!”

She doesn’t understand, I can’t sell the gold or silver bars. They’re gonna go up, and the houses, I just got them fully rented. Stocks can tank in a heart-beat – and if I get a margin call on my Berkshire Hawthaway I’m done for.

Why can’t she understand it’s mine, I worked for it, I need it. How will I care for my self.

Hope they don’t bargain hard here – damn kid.

49 Comments
  1. Sounds like a fair bit of Moliere in this… πŸ™‚

  2. Yes, I can hear my mother’s voice there. She is going to live a long time and might need all that money she racked up to keep up her lifestyle… I wed in Black. Thistles for my bouquet, but those WERE the days…

  3. Great use of internal dialog to develop this miserly old guy. The rationalizations are so lame and I feel sorry for his daughter! Ron

  4. “lol” It’s amazing how you can write from a point of view that is not all your own, but rather a place you visit. _Resa

  5. Bill, this hits home for a lot of people I bet as wedding are so ridiculously expensive. A secondhand dress is a great way to go, especially since, supposedly, it’s been worn only once. Nice story!

  6. Dear Bill,
    Your MC has his priorities out of whack, but sadly he’s not alone. On the other hand, I know a couple who went bankrupt giving ungrateful children everything their little hearts desired. Soon they will end up in government housing with kids who will never visit. Both extremes are dangerous.

  7. What a nice man. I know children shouldn’t expect, but don’t parents teach their kids to keep their promises? Perhaps if he wasn’t such a selfish grump, she might visit more.

  8. Oh dear…I can just hear his grumpy voice and see his sour, suspicious face. His poor daughter.

    Beautiful character sketch!

  9. I’m with Janet–gotta protect the Berkshire Hathaway. Good story, Bill.

  10. Grouchy old guy! She may be sorry she accepted anything at all from him….

  11. He shouldn’t worry too much – Warren Buffet has been right so many times — πŸ˜‰

  12. Man, this clown, is one pissed off motha!

    Tom

  13. His priorities are surely all wrong. I fear he may be one of my clients. Yikes! I say she should elope. Great story.

  14. I agree with good voice and I’m glad that’s not our daughter’s story. πŸ™‚ Although I’d be happy if we had some Berkshire Hathaway!

    janet

  15. Dear Bill,

    She’s better off without the dad who is to cheap to part with his lucre when the right moment come along. Moron.

    (Has anyone asked whether you need to add the word ‘take’ in that take care of myself sentence?)

    Aloha,

    Doug

    • I’d have to agree with Doug. She’s better off without el cheapo. Probably why she never calls. Though if she makes enough money now and still insists he pay perhaps she hasn’t fallen too far from the tree.

      (I’d say it either needs to be “take care of” or “care for”.)

      • Hi Adam, I think to her, the dress is an affirmation of love – a last chance to find what she missed out on.

    • Thanks Doug — good catch – funny how the mind reads what it wants instead of what is real.

      A bit like how we sometimes deal with reality.

  16. Dear Bill,

    And in the end he’ll have his gold and silver bars as his only companions. Damn father. Good story.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Yes, I suspect she thinks the dress is not unlike a blessing – I hope she isn’t disapointed.

  17. Refreshingly un-saccharine take on the prompt Bill. Is that how you spell saccharine? Great voice anyway.

  18. Have you ever seen “Say yes to the Dress?” I just watch an episode for the first time!!! Sharing resources between the generations is a interesting dilemma.

    • I think the separation of people is a new, possibly short-lived blip on the radar of civilizarion.

      Much is lost in the abandonment of the multigenerational family.

  19. This has so many layers to it. I can’t quite describe it, but I absolutely love it. Probably because I am getting married soon? Though none of that is happening.. Yet! Lol

    • thanks Parul πŸ™‚

      Getting married — when?, we will send some prayers along. I do hope we can see a picture or two πŸ™‚

      I did tell my daughter that she could pay for her wedding, ( she has a fine job ), but I will get her the dress, and not second hand πŸ™‚

      • Thanks πŸ™‚
        It’s still a few months away – December.. I will share some pictures.. πŸ™‚
        I’m on the hunt for a wedding dress these days, haha..

    • Hi Parul!

      Miss you! Congratulations!

      Aloha,

      Doug

      • I’ll second that, Parul .

        Shalom,

        Rochelle

        • Thanks Rochelle, Doug..
          I miss Friday fictioneers too. I want to get back, I feel so rusted!
          I will return when I can do justice to the prompts.
          Take care πŸ™‚

          • Congratulations from Bill’s other half, too. As for missing FF, I had to do that too for a bit. Sometimes real life interferes and is more important, believe it or not. πŸ™‚ But we’ll enjoy having you back.

            janet

            • Thanks Janet!
              I didn’t realize that two of my favorite bloggers are a couple!
              This is just amazing! There could be so many possibilities! Heard of Alex Rutherford?
              I’m sorry, but I just get too excited by such coincidences.. πŸ™‚

              I have been trying to try to write something, but there is so much on my mind that every time I think of my neglected blog I go blank! Hopefully when there is some semblance of order in my real life, I would be able to address the chaos (or the lack of it) in my virtual world too.
              I miss the excitement of our weekly get together!

          • don’t be too hard on yourself. Write what is fun, you are better than you think πŸ™‚

          • Even Rusty you’ll be just fine. Congrats!

Leave a Reply

