Skip to content

the sea – friday fictioneers

September 11, 2013

You’re quiet.

It’s the sea, and the day.

The day?

It reminds me of Gettysburg.

Huh?

There’s a marker there. It marks the highest point Pickett’s men reached as they marched until they were six feet away from the cannon the Union soldiers fired over and over into them. We saw the marker. Our guide said Southerners still come there and weep, even after one hundred fifty years.

Today I wonder who goes to ground zero and celebrates.

32 Comments
  1. Poignantly written in a 100 words.

  2. Dear Bill,

    You last line was intriguing and thought provoking. Welcome back to the party, pal.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  3. You raise an intriguing point, Bill. People get caught up in the emotion, but then want to get on with their lives. I wonder if that will prove to be different experience for the next generation. Maybe it will depend on how they talk about/teach this in the schools and what lays ahead. I think it’s still too raw. Great piece!

    • yes, heroes or fools are the same men through different eyes.

      I am glad you liked it.

  4. It would be very hard to witness someone celebrating such incredible destruction.

    • yes, although some celebrate that loved ones survived.

      The human heart can be noble or grim.

  5. This is a great take.. made me think… actually a thought I had the other day. When does it go into history and is remembered for other things.. I’m thinking about all monuments and buildings that really has seen murder and slaughter that are now remembered for their beauty…

  6. As a southerner, and a Civil War buff, I appreciate where you went with this piece. It made me think of the Oklahoma City bombing. Some of the folks from our area lost relatives there. I’m not sure we celebrate, but we honor their memory with our thoughts, tears, and prayers.

    • My respects to General Lee, one of my favorite men in history.

      some celebrate that space for the heroism displayed there, some celebrate that space as a great victory.

      Guess it depends, thanks for stopping by.

  7. A very thoughtful piece. I like how you started with the water and moved inland.

  8. Poignant piece and very apropos for the day.

  9. Evocative and thought-provoking. Well said.

  10. Very effective, Bill. Welcome back!

  11. Dear Bill,

    It’s good to see you back here. You’ve been missed. Evocative piece, particularly after having watched several film clips from Ground Zero. Our daughter-in-law was in the Twin Towers on that day and, thankfully, escaped. Today we celebrate her life.

    Good job.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  12. Gettysburg, Ground Zero, and the sea — didn’t think they could all be put together in such a coherent and intriguing manner. Makes a good point about humanity, where we like it or not!

  13. This really has me thinking. You make a great point with this piece. I think I will be back when I have fully processed my thoughts. Excellent job!
    Tom

    • thanks Tom – making someone walk away with one’s words on their mind is the highest complement.

  14. Now that’s a good point. Nice piece.

    I live on San Juan Island… In 1859, General Pickett came and saved our island from the dreaded English in what was to become called The Pig War. They set up a garrison on the south end and the British set up one on the north end. This went on for years… without a shot ever fired.

  15. Well written, Bill–nice to see you back on Friday Fictioneers.

    • thanks VB, I forgot to include the intro and picture 🙂

      I’m glad you enjoyed it.

  16. such a thought provoking piece, good job.

  17. An interesting question. Love the way you tied these two terrible events together.

    janet

Leave a Reply

