Skip to content

solid heart – friday fictioneers

June 5, 2013

This story is prompted for Friday Fictioneers – kindly hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields Come try your hand at a 100 word story. Here is today’s photo prompt

In ninth grade Mr B. always used to say “You kids and your “I need to find myself”. Let me tell you something, find out who you are and where you’re going and get there by the time you’re thirty-five.”

Smart fellow that Mr B. It worked mostly. Like arrows quivering to be released they raced through college and took the business or academic world by storm.

I had a harder time, and now at fifty I gaze in the mirror and wonder who I am. I feel so confused, divided. Who could possibly love me, understand my steadfast heart?

45 Comments
  1. wow. i really liked the way you interpreted the prompt πŸ™‚

  2. This is a story I can relate to, though often most of the weirdness is on the inside and not visible in the mirror.

  3. very true to life. I think everyone can relate, even those who shoot off πŸ™‚

  4. Love the idea of arrows shooting off and ‘finding themselves.’ Pity your character isn’t as sure-footed, but then do we ever know ourselves? Very thoughtful and thought-provoking story.

  5. Bill, I enjoyed this. You took this to a much deeper level than I was able to this week. Does anyone ever really know him/herself? I ask this after reading this.

  6. Nice symbolic use of the picture!

  7. A great use of the prompt. I am less sure of myself the older I become. I am beginning to believe again and stop limiting the possibilities of me. And now when I am on a mission I will think of this flash and the combo soft toy illustration.

    • are you less sure? Why do you think that is?

      We certainly limit ourselves, and not to try is certain to fail.

      • I had ambition and dreams and lived life in connection with my spirit when I was younger.

        • why did you stop ?

          • I sold out – I wanted the basics, house etc. and so retrained in jobs that pay – the creative life is often one of poverty. Fortunately I now have nearly all I have ever wanted so I can take a hit in the salary stakes and try to pursue my dreams. I stopped believing in myself and lost confidence and also put relationships before my life. Now I am older, wiser and settled. So now (starting this year) I am taking my leap of faith!

  8. Great piece. I think even adults can dream about what they want to be when they grow up.

    • I do all the time, not that left handed starting pitcher for the Cleveland Indians is out πŸ™‚

  9. A serious offering on the prompt, and a wonderful one as well. I think we’ve all experienced those feelings, and you’ve stated them so movingly.

    Here’s mine: http://unexpectedpaths.com/friday-fictioneers/young-at-heart/

  10. The creature as metaphor. Nicely done. Nicely written.

    • Thanks Patrick – aren’t we are compartmentalized – perhaps coherency is not our natural state.

  11. Dear Bill,
    I’m still waiting to see how I’ll turn out. Nice story, and I was glad to see you post one this week.

    • I have your answer. Your story turned out just right – thanks for stopping by. It is nice to have been missed.

  12. Loved this Bill and it’s good to hear from you again.
    Your last sentence was brilliantly written, a touch of old world charm to it. And we all know the answer, love to you all
    Dee

  13. Well … not EVERYTHING seems to turn out the way it should, does it?

  14. Wow, Mr. B., no pressure! You’ve identified a journey we all have to go on. Great use of the prompt.

  15. That was a very poignant take on the photo; very original. I loved the slightly old worldy ‘my steadfast heart’. Well done, Bill.

  16. Very unusual take on the prompt and one to which I can really relate. Liked reading it very much.

  17. Clever use of the photo prompt – metaphorically using the jigsawed creature as a split personality.

  18. Mr. B had a good idea but I wonder how many of his students realized his goal.

  19. I think I look different every day – and I don’t mean how my reflection actually looks in the mirror. Really thought-provoking this one – thank you!

  20. Many of us don’t even know what we want to achieve and where we want to go? A few people succeed. like how this story connects to the photo prompt

  21. Mr B was a rather clever man. And you got me thinking! πŸ™‚

    • he was a ninth grade psychology teacher and a used car salesman. He had nine kids and his oldest was one of my best friends as a child.

  22. Dear Bill,

    Nice to see you here. I’ve missed your presence. I wonder how many of us gaze in the mirror with the same questions. Well done, although, I’m wondering if it wouldn’t be more easily understood if your sentence ready “You kids and your, ‘I need to find myself.'”

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Hi Rochelle — I actually thought of that, but didn’t have the energy to change it. Now I shall πŸ™‚

      thanks

  23. Your beautiful wife and daughters!!!! I know I got the answer right! Hugs out to you and yours _Resa

Leave a Reply

