Skip to content

wasp – friday fictioneers

April 18, 2013

This story is prompted for Friday Fictioneers – kindly hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields Come try your hand at a 100 word story. Here is today’s photo prompt

They warned me her beauty held danger, disguised a harsh interior, that her husky soft voice masked venom and a piercing sting.

I laughed. “Bring me this Kate, I will tame her.”

I recall days of laughter and nights of pleasure and pain where their subtle differences stood undiscerned. Passion fueled us, desire drove us and always she hungered, demanded more. No jewels could be fine enough, no taste sweet enough. Her fire consumed us and I feared, knew she would consume me.

Without warning she was gone. She left me empty, a paralyzed specimen for someone else to study.

37 Comments
  1. Nice one Bill!

  2. Exciting glimpse of a dangerous passion, great story!

  3. That’s a great piece of writing. I loved it.

  4. This is fabulous Bill. Truth in the fiction!

  5. I love this poetic story, one of the best this week… sorry for coming in so late.

  6. My goodness, what a twist in the tail. er, tale. Differently different. Love it 🙂

    • thanks – glad you enjoyed it.

      I started thinking about the wasps that place eggs in a host which is ultimately devoured by the larva – and then I remembered.. 🙂

  7. Dear Bill,
    Definitely one of your best. You took me for a loop-de-loop that left me stunned and a little sad. Powerful.
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

  8. terrific story Bill ^^

  9. Great tale, Bill. The wasp has great power and is not to be trusted. Well done!

  10. HI Bill
    Is this ‘Taming of the Wasp’?
    I loved this little tale!

  11. Trying to tame her was a grand idea. I just wonder is the pleasure was worth the pain.

    In this sentence, “pleasure and pain where their subtle differences,” shouldn’t their read our?

    Good story, Bill

  12. Excellent, Bill; such a powerful story in so few words. 🙂
    I love this line in particular: Passion fueled us, desire drove us and always she hungered, demanded more.

  13. Beautiful! Positively shakespearian! 🙂

  14. Okay ,you know I have to say this…
    ” Funny, you don’t look shrewish.”

  15. Very nicely written.. Dare I say different from your usual style?
    Dark and intense.. Enigmatic.. Good work this week!

  16. We often ignore warnings. Great write. But I’d like to think karma will dole out justice – eventually.

  17. Loved this Bill. So descriptive, so well written
    Dee

  18. I’ll just call you Petruchio. 🙂 Excellent job.

    janet

  19. Being allergic to wasps, this piece hit home. One question–should “their subtle differences” be “our subtle differences”? Lots of drama here, Bill–well done.

    • thanks VB, I think in their passion the lines of pain and pleasure became blurred… perhaps she fed on all emotions and stimuli…

Leave a Reply

