Skip to content

epilogue – friday fictioneers zeds zombies

April 5, 2013

This story is prompted for Friday Fictioneers – kindly hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields Come try your hand at a 100 word story. Here is today’s photo prompt

With Madman lost, and the girl free but very ill, Reaper returned her to the settlement for succor and immediately returned to the infected territories for reconnaissance. When she awoke, Reaper was already one week gone. Two readers requested this, and I am grateful they wanted more.

She found him at the tree. After long patrols he always came there.

“You’re back, I…”

Reaper felt her discomfort, “This place is peaceful, the others can’t understand.”

“Yes,” she exclaimed. “the taint, the dreams…”

Reaper’s hands covered hers. Sunlight danced about her tresses, rosy skin and curves her frock couldn’t conceal recast the once gaunt infected young woman.

“Shhh…. those will pass, your future’s bright now.”

She frowned. “You left before I could thank you.”

“I’m back.”

“Or tell you my name.”

He raised one eyebrow quizzically.

She smiled and stepped toward him as her frock tumbled down. Clad in sunlight she whispered, “Eve, I can be your Eve.”

The new beginning….

36 Comments
  1. this episode had me smiling πŸ™‚ Eve, love that name. great dialogue πŸ™‚

    • thanks KZ — some zombie stores have a happy ending, or at least a happy interlude πŸ™‚

  2. I couldn’t find your icon at first…glad I took a second look.
    Eve. I like that.

    Thanks again for your visit.

    • thanks for commenting πŸ™‚ Glad you enjoyed that. I think her real name was lost in the horror of the zombie possession, and this is what she chose.

  3. Since it’s a new beginning …is Eve wearing a fig leaf that fell from the tree? If so, I’m curious. What is he wearing? Ah…never mind.

  4. I like your stories so much I was watching the walking dead the other night and I forgot madman and Reaper weren’t a part of the show for a sec….Great work as always!

    Tom

    • Hi Tom – I haven’t seen that, I don’t see much TV, but I am honored by your complement.

      • I try not to watch too much TV myself. A few years back I purposely stop watching TV for two years so I could read more and I barely missed the darn thing. Recently someone told me about The Walking Dead and I watched two seasons on Netflix in a few days time. I love zombie movies going back to Omega Man…anyway during one of scenes on The Walking Dead an image from these words popped into my head ” Reaper watched Madman grind the vehicle closer to the atrium. Ramming forward then spinning back as the wheels hung up on crushed zombies. Smoke belched from the entrance above the wide stairway.” I would say that is excellent writing for your Lily story to stay with me. Anyone with your talent should hear that sort of thing once and a while and know they are greatly appreciated for their skills. You are an excellent writer.

        Tom

  5. The heroes always get the girl don’t they? Great story, pacey and racy with lots of tension. I loved it!

  6. Dear Bill,
    The perfect ending to satisfy the romantic in me. Let the begetting begin. πŸ˜‰
    Shalom,
    Rochelle
    PS Happy to have found the right prompt for your story.

    • H Rochelle — we always want to keep the romantic flames fed πŸ™‚

      You always find just the right prompt πŸ™‚

  7. I love this, Bill. It so layered with tension, sexuality, adventure. Trees can have that effect on people. Eve is a new beginning. I hope good times are ahead!

    • thanks – I think having known the scourge they will fight it which means long patrols and danger ahead, but will treasure each moment they share as so few can have known the darkness they have faced.

      thanks so much for reading !

  8. Yessssss!! That’s perfect. I’m definitely satisfied. πŸ™‚

  9. A sweet and happy end, and love under a tree.. It can’t be better

    • yep — seemed like a natural place to end things, or start them.

      Thanks for stopping by

  10. Loved this entire series and this was an excellent ending (maybe.)

    janet

  11. I like this, Bill. Good ending (of course, there’s still an opportunity to pursue “The new beginning….”).

  12. Crisp dialogue, which says so much. Grimness then hope at the end. Great job.

    Here’s mine: http://unexpectedpaths.com/friday-fictioneers/life-a-cliche/

  13. Oh, I’m glad I made it over for this episode. How does that song go, “Don’t sit under the apple tree with anyone else but me?” Great job, Bill.

  14. This is great. I love the dialogue – all the writing actually, it flows effortlessly.

  15. Hey, she’s coming on to him! At last. Epilogue? I doubt it… πŸ˜‰

  16. Sweet, hopeful. Not what one would expect of a zombie story!

Leave a Reply

