Skip to content

true love

March 20, 2013

This story is prompted for Friday Fictioneers – kindly hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields Come try your hand at a 100 word story. Here is today’s photo prompt

I can’t decide if this is two great loves, or three

Great roping horses are rare as porkypine feathers. A cowboy can spend his whole goldurned life searching one out. Like a purfect woman only better, ’cause it ain’t no cheater, is loyal and caint talk.

I had to have her, and I offered up good money. What fool turns down a year’s wages? You’ll regret it I tole him, and he just laughed saying this horse was worth his life. Soon as he turned his back, he paid. Didn’t hurt, much – well after the third shot. Now she’s mine.

I wish she’d forget him and stop watering that dang grave.

57 Comments
  1. Oh, I love this! Porkypine feathers! Wonderful!

    ‘Like a purfect woman only better, ’cause it ain’t no cheater, is loyal and caint talk.’
    Great characterisation! (Of your hero, not women of course)!Great dialect and story …!

    I’ve run out of exclamations marks, so I’ll have to stop here.

  2. What no Zeds??
    Great story, nice twists
    Dee

  3. Such evil. Great job.

  4. Bill, sorry about the delay in getting here. It’s been a busy weekend. You twisted this one a few times..Clever as all hell my friend. You left a smile on my face. This maybe the cleverest story this week….Cleverest is an ugly word don’t you think? But it’s how I feel…this is really sharp.

    Tom

  5. That was terrific! Great twist on the hose. Watering the grave was genius!

  6. Fantastic! That was definitely a great twist on the watering hose. Loved it!

  7. Bill, you got me! I was feeling so sympathetic to the narrator – but the horse is smarter than me, I guess. Good story.

  8. AH that was real good… Loved both story and lingo

  9. Really enjoyed this – the language and the casual, laidback way he reports his deeds. And love that last line. Horses are loyal

    • Thanks pardner πŸ™‚ – not every day one gets to use porkypine in a sentence !

  10. Howdy, pardner. Them there’s some real fancy talk.

    I loved this. Well done!

  11. Brilliant! I loved the voice of this story – and what a great story!

  12. I love the raw, western attitude here. Motto – take what you want when you want it and watch your back!!

  13. Wow he has no fear! He has violated three commandments, #6, #8 and #10. Someone should share with him before he trades his life.

    • thou shall not covet thy neighbor’s roping horse — I like the sound of that….

  14. Nasty-assed horse thief. He’ll get his.
    Great story, great language, from a great writer.
    Randy

  15. Very well done. Nice dialect.

  16. Great story! Loved the language, and the ending was really clever!

  17. That was great, unless you are the poor guy who got shot in the back! Good story. πŸ™‚

  18. I really appreciate the “caint talk” line, but I’m afeared to use it around the homestead. Might be my grave their waterin’ next.

  19. Love the first paragraph, and of course, the last line–it was worth a Zeds skip.

  20. Oh how terrible but I can’t help laughing. Great twist.

  21. Oh my goodness, that’s awesome. A double whammy of great dialect and dark humor. That last line just killed me. πŸ™‚

  22. Now that’s real ‘out of the box’ thinking. Well done.

  23. this was awesome.. really loved the voice that you used here and that ending, awwww. now that’s loyalty

  24. Hahahaha! Nice one, BIll!

  25. great voice and a good story.

  26. Well if that don’t beat everythin’. I coulda swore this is where a gal could come for a Zed story. And here I sit jest a chucklin’ and a-gigglin’. some purdy fancy tale tellin’
    Shalom Y’all,
    Rochelle

  27. I’m loyal but I sure kin talk. Better stick with the horse.

    EEEHA!

    janet

  28. Oh, that is durn tootin’ good! Love the use of colliqual language, it sets the mood. I especially like the ending.

Leave a Reply

