Skip to content

get altitude friday fictioneers zombies zeds 25

March 9, 2013

This story is prompted for Friday Fictioneers – kindly hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields Come try your hand at a 100 word story. Here is today’s photo prompt

Madman has rescued Reaper, but with access to the hive at last Madman seems intent upon settling old scores.

“Jump on”, Madman howled “Don’t touch the World Ball.”

Reaper leapt aboard the dilapidated pickup, clinging to stability as Madman plowed through the onrushing zombies. Clear of the pressing throng in a screech of tires Madman jerked into a bootleggers turn, snowplow pointing back to the throng.

Standing, Reaper punched the truck. “Damnit, I couldn’t kill it”

Madman eyed the belching smoke escaping the shattered glass windows. “Finally I’ve got access and it’s personal.” He glanced at the World Ball precariously mounted over the truck. “Get altitude!” Tires squealing away. Reaper heard bones snap and a sound like crunching melon.

32 Comments
  1. That last line is just … gruesome (I mean that in a nice way!)

  2. Dear Bill
    Not sure what I can add. Bones and melons…eeeew. Nu? Keep writing. What happened to the girl?
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

    • Hi Rochelle —

      she’s still on the fire escape with the sniper rifle “at elevation”.

      thanks for reading. 🙂

      • you can’t just leave her there!

        • She’s up on the fire escape, but I imagine the attack on the hive will leave her disoriented and vulnerable – as she is still under its influence.

          I imagine Reaper might head there soon.

        • ha — I needed a vehicle for my snowplow and you delivered, the rest is easy peasy…. three or four more weeks.

          I will then take all the stories and post them as one story – and I will have achieved a life goal. 🙂 – so thanks for helping

  3. Glad I wasn’t under the tires. It would have sounded more like a hollow pumpkin. I’m glad Reaper got rescued. maybe now he won’t feel so grim.

  4. Grief! Melons? I’m not going to be able to forget that… Nicely done.

  5. Hi Bill,
    Like “Get altitude!” and “bootleggers turn”–probably no surprise there…

    • thanks VB, a bootlegger’s turn is one thing I always wanted to try but never got around to.

  6. Gosh that sound of the melon really resonated in my head Bill – I know exactly what it sounded like and it was the perfect touch at the end. Well done 🙂

  7. sound like crunching melon — eeeeeeek

  8. Plowing through the zombies and crunching melon balls…I think I’ll be watching “Walking Dead” later on. I just love a good zombie tale! You do it justice.

    • I haven’t seen that show, but I hear it is riveting.

      Thanks for stopping by, and I’m glad you like it.

  9. Love that last sentence. Really enjoying Reaper’s adventures.

  10. JackieP permalink

    nicely done, complete with the ‘ewww’ factor.

  11. Good use of the figurative languages! 🙂

  12. “a sound like crunching melon” — that had to be a head! Right? A head! 😀 This series gets more and more exciting each week!

  13. Tom Poet permalink

    Love the action and movement in this….Keeping the story going every week is just an amazing show of your creativity…Excellent.

    Tom

  14. I could see the madman crushing the world ball. An enjoyable read.

  15. Reaper goes from strength to strength!
    “… bones snap and a sound like crunching melon” Brilliant line, I could hear it
    Dee

  16. Ew. Now that description at the end. Well done.

  17. I’m liking the saving-the-world action from these two heroes. Super.

  18. You always have strong descriptive words beside remaining faithful to your story line. If something happens to the World Ball, perhaps Doug could craft another one for them. 🙂

    “Bootlegger’s” could use an apostrophe, BTW.

  19. Dear Bill,

    You’re going to get a bad name among the walking dead if you keep this up. Loved the bones crunching under the plow’s blade.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  20. Uggggh! He got the hang of it – snapping bones and crunching melons.

Leave a Reply

