Skip to content

playing for time – friday fictioneers – zeds 19 zombies

January 9, 2013

This story is prompted for Friday Fictioneers – kindly hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields Come try your hand at a 100 word story. Here is today’s photo prompt

Reaper, has entered the zombie lair with his sword, a side arm and a bomb ( provided by his brilliant ally Madman.) If he can find the courage, perhaps the hive mind that controls the Zombies can be destroyed.

Reaper’s sword hilt smashed the window and he entered the room. The smell staggered him. It was death, dissipation and despair. Alone in a music room, he cracked the hallway door. Strewn with contorted comatose bodies, rasping breathing terrible toys temporarily abandoned by evil marked his path.

Madman’s bomb was ready. Get close, pull the pin run like Hell for 300 seconds. “Would a ball of string like Theseus took into the labyrinth lead him safely out? No”, Reaper knew this was a one way trip.

No playing for time. If he didn’t leave now, he would never find the courage.

The previous story, and a link to all the other episodes is here

40 Comments
  1. You just keep cranking up the tension tighter and tighter, don’t you? How is Reaper ever going to get out of THIS in one piece…or will he??

    • Thanks — his future depends on Rochelle’s next picture! I hope she doesn’t let him down!

  2. I’m sure Reaper will find a way out even without the ball of string. Well done Bill.

    • Ha ha — you saw that! Thanks for noticing!

      There was a Mary Renault book of historical fiction, I think it was “The Bronze God of Rhodes” that I read as a teen. I had to get that in.

  3. “No playing for time”? One last nod-of-the-head to the prompt? As for the alliteration, I’m an addict myself so like it.

  4. I like your use of active verbs. They move the story forward well.

  5. You have an interesting story developing here. It is intriguing that he happens upon a music room, a place you would never suspect. It adds a lot of dimension I think. Well done, Bill!

    • thanks — the prompt has certainly left me scrambling for plot, but it’s fun never knowing the intermediate steps.

  6. Interesting story developing. I had a thoughts about bombs as well, but more focusing on the missing cases… 🙂

  7. Mmmm, not a writer eh! Nice continuation of the story and a lovely bit of alliteration in there too with “death, dissipation and despair”. Looking forward to the next one now. 🙂

  8. picky note: If he didn’t leave now he would never find the courage. comma needed after “now.” also, this is fun. well done. also, why 300 seconds instead of 5 minutes? because it’s easier to count to 300?

    • thanks Rich – I am adding the comma now. As for 300, when I saw it in my mind’s eye the timer didn’t have minutes and seconds.

  9. It felt creepy in the music room. I’m glad I didn’t have to go in there alone. This just gets better and better.

  10. Reaper, Madman and zombies? I’d like to see more 🙂

  11. Cellos, bombs & zombies. Great combination.

    Q: Why is a cello solo like a bomb?
    A: By the time you hear it, it’s too late to do anything about it.

  12. Great alliteration in the second and third lines – and as someone who’s not generally a zombie reader, I can say I’m happy to read yours!

  13. The Music Room… good place to find bodies. Have Reaper jump out the window…. does he have a cape or something to float down with?

  14. Tom Poet permalink

    Bill,
    Creepy as can be…Great imagery. Well done.

    Tom

  15. Loved this line; “terrible toys temporarily abandoned by evil ” It really brought home the severity of the scene in the protagonist mind.

    • thanks so much, I was worried about it being over alliterated. I will be over to see yours soon.

  16. I’ve known a few conductors like that …

    • funny, one would think that anyone who can make such beautiful music would have a light soul.

  17. That brought me back to the “real” world with a thud. 🙂 Looking forward to seeing how he gets out of this one.

    BTW, you don’t need the quotation marks as those two sentences aren’t quotes.

  18. Hi Bill,
    AMC should sign you to do a follow-up show for the Walking Dead! Ron

    • you know, I didn’t have a TV for four years, including when I started writing this zombie story. Now I have a TV and every time I turn on SYFI it’s full of zombies!

  19. Ooh, I love a bit of alliteration in in a story. Great imagery.

    • you caught me. I was worried I might be tramping on the alliteration accelerator a little hard!

  20. Dear Bill,
    That’s quite a picture you painted of the music room. Creepy and well done.
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

  21. Reaper and the Whirlwind? Welcome back, Bill.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  22. Don’t say it’s ‘coytains’ for little Reaper? Nicely done as ever Bill.

Leave a Reply

