Skip to content

shades – Friday fictioneers

November 3, 2012

This story is prompted for Friday Fictioneers – kindly hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields Come try your hand at a 100 word story where each word counts. Here is today’s photo prompt

“How much for that pair?”

“I can’t sell those, they’re magic.”

“Get out!”

“No, they show people and the world as it is, not as we want it to be.”

“Really? Can I try them on?”

“Listen kid, it’s too dangerous for someone as young as you.”

“Whaddya mean, I can vote, drive a car, join the military. I can handle it.”

“Move along sonny boy, last time I sold a pair of these it was to a poet.”

“And?”

“Oh yeah, they helped him. Helped him blow his brains out. Like I said, move along kid, bad for business.”

32 Comments
  1. i think the person selling the glasses would never have told the kid what they could do if he really didn’t want to sell them to him. but it was still fun.

    • haven’t you ever offered a kid some sage advice, knowing they would never listen?

      At worst, he doubles the price.

      Thanks for the thought…

  2. I wonder who he would sell them to? Nice.

    • someone who is looking for an edge, who can’t imagine their visage in a mirror could be less than sterling.

  3. Hi Bill,
    Magic glasses, great premise. You and Swirling Turnip came up with similar tales. Great take on the photo. Ron

  4. I think I’ll pass on those, too! Luckily I need prescription sunglasses so I wouldn’t be tempted. Clever take and the dialogue tells the story nicely. πŸ™‚

  5. Strange he won’t sell to the kid but will sell to adults. As an adult, I don’t want them either. I hope he goes out of business.

  6. Even with magic glasses, our built-in filters would prevent us from seeing our true selves–.

  7. A very clever take on this prompt, and some food for thought! I know enough about the darkness of this world to know that I don’t want to see it as it really is.

    • yes, hope is a gift. Sometimes the young ask for things they don’t really want.

      thanks for stopping by

  8. Oooh, dark story. The glasses might be handy to help us understand others’ motives and deceptions, and they might keep love from being blind, but I agree with you and other commentors that too much stark truth would be overwhelming.

  9. I noted this before, in on one my blog, that Richard Brautrigan shot himself.
    I think he had several pairs of those glasses and overdid it.
    When he was found several days later, he had left a note,

    “Messy, isn’t it.”

    So it goes…

    Randy

    β€œall of us have a place in history. mine is clouds.”
    ― Richard Brautigan

  10. I enjoyed this much

    • I think, magic would have a down side. If you had the glasses and were hard enough, you could shape the world. But if your soul wasn’t made of stern stuff, it would crush you.

  11. Good story, Bill, but more of a curse than magic. Do you have any magic beans instead?

  12. Maybe more dictators should have a pair of those glasses. πŸ˜‰ Nice one, Bill.

  13. Dear Bill,

    Crisp concise and oh, so imaginative. I love that he has them but won’t sell them. Great idea for this photo and well executed.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  14. I wonder who the poet is? I wonder if you are alluding to something?

    • just that some are dreamers, and the world is too hard a place for them, and some shape their surroundings to their will.

      thanks for asking.

  15. I don’t think any of us could bear to own a pair of those! Good take on the prompt Bill.

  16. Those glasses, I really wouldn’t like those.

    • yes, I don’t think I would either. Interesting that once I decided on the “magic” of the glasses, it was inevitable that the wearer had to die, either by his own hand, or as a cassandra at the hand of others.

      A poet couldn’t handle it, but perhaps it would make a harder, stronger man a king or dictator.

Leave a Reply

