Skip to content

why is it fall in love – poem

September 24, 2012

Is it possible to fall up ?

why do we fall in love
instead of rise
What makes my knees get weak
When you arrive?

I steel myself to be
So cool so calm
A warm inviting smile
Kills my aplomb

If love were really good
You’d think I’d find
Just once when you were near
I’d not lose my mind

It’s love that speeds my heart
brings out the sun
Fills our world with laughs
Of two as one

I didn’t fall in love
As I have found
It’s hard to tumble down
Floating high above the ground

From → fiction, humor, poetry, romance

18 Comments
  1. and what did she say to your love poem?
    did you ply her with drinks as well as words and have your way with her rising up and tumblin’ down?

    I liked the:
    “It’s love that speeds my heart
    brings out the sun
    Fills our world with laughs
    Of two as one”

    I might add my own couplet;
    “…but if we fall in love instead of rise
    the fall would be for me a grand surprise”

    Where’s my wifey-poo and where’s the gin that she loves so much?
    Ha
    Randy

  2. Sweet! This might sound crazy, but I fall up the stairs a lot.

  3. TheOthers1 permalink

    Love that last stanza.

  4. I especially like the ending. This was warm, fuzzy, cute, and all. Nice!

  5. I hate to say “cute” because it sounds mundane but your words have such a warm, fuzzy feel to them–Nice.

    • thanks — channeling my inner Ogden Nash a bit. Cute or silly is OK.

      Poetry can express great thoughts, but sometimes it is fun to just play with the words in a whimsical way.

      I always appreciate your comments and insight.

  6. Love is irrational and it can turn even the most sane person into a neurotic mess.
    But it is, no doubt, the best feeling in the world.

    • yes, ( as long as we don’t take IQ tests while under love’s strongest influence )

      thank you for visiting

Leave a Reply

